Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Captain America

After I got back today from hiking Ötschergräben my brother-in-law asked me if I wanted to join him to watch 'Captain Americ' in a local movie theatre. We got there with enough time to spare to grab a bite to eat. The movie theatre is called 'Hollywood Megaplex'. A place that calls itself 'Megaplex' should have more than 6 or 8 small movie theatres. They definitley should consider renaming the place into 'Microplex', that would be way more appropriate.But that's not even the major beef I have with that place. uck me as particularly odd was the fact that you have to pay for your movie tickets in cash. They don't accept credit cards and if you were to use your ATM card, they make you get the cash from the ATM. WTH is worng with those people ?? The movie theatre is  called Hollywood Megaplex...I'vw been to Hollywood lots of times, and that ain't it!! On top of that you can't get a single burger in there. WTF is wrong with the people in my parents town?? The only thing that was open was a miserely sports bar and a pizza place. Well me bing lactose intolerant a pizza would have been a rather bad idea. So we went a couple of blocks over and stoped by at a local McDonald's. There the 'provincial comedy' continued. I ordered my burger explicitly without cheese and I heard the manager tell the 'burger guy' to prep the burger without cheese. What does the burger guy put on the burger ?? You guessed right: Cheese. So much for take number 1. Well take number 2 finally did the trick.
Bernd and I headed back to the movie theatre and just had barely enough time to eat the burger before heading into the theatre. When I go to a movie I expect to see at least 15 minutes worth of previews. Not so in this theatre...they start the movie right away. If I were to be forced to have to live in that town...well that by itself would drive me nuts!!
Now onto the movie itself. I'm not going to write a synopsis about it since there are people who do a way better job than I. Just check out the Synopsis at IMDB.
Here's how I feel about the movie. Well I didn't have too many expectations to begin with. Absolutely hate the 3D and that movie certainly isn't going to change my position on 3D. As far as I'm concerned you would be way better off to watch it in 2D. There is one single effect in the entire movie where the 3D effect is really cool! The rest of the SFX is great and I really enjoyed them. The story itself is a little weak for my taste, and here's a note to Hollywood in general. Please come up with new villains!! Every second Superhero Movie has Nazis as villains. It's predictable, it's boring, it simply is BS!! Hollywood repeat after me: New Villains!!! Other than that it was a fun action movie to watch. Conidering the hyphe they created for that movie I would have expected more.
Now let's get a little into the absolutely terrible part, that I don't hold against the movie, since it doesn't have anything to do with it per se. Being forced to watch a movie dubed into German is absolutely horrible. It almost made me wanna puke!! I know what the actors sound like, and the dubs don't come even remotely close. There are parts in the movie, and not even short ones, where I can see that video and dubed audio don't match. That absolutely drives me crazy!! I hate, I can't stand it it's almost like a piece of art is being raped and nobody gives a shit about it!! People, for the future stop dubbing movies!! A movie that has been shot in English is meant to be seen in it's original language and not in German, French or whatever!!
This was also the first time that Daisy was without me since the Relocation. She definitely wasn't a happy camper. She was a little whiny and tried it with every trick in the book to convince me to take her with me. But at a certain point she knew she wasn't coming with me and just walked away and lay under the dining room table. My mom later told me that she was walking around the house looking for me and that she was whiny for quite some time. She then stayed very close to my mom and didn't let my mom out of her eyes. Later when my mom went to bed Daisy joined my dad while he was watching TV and she was pretty much fine. As soon as she saw me she went nuts and was super excited and super affectionate. OK, that were only 2 hours and she went through the whole relocation ordeal just 1 week ago, but she can handle it and that's quite good to know!

No comments:

Post a Comment