Well, today I decided to have my drivers license updated. It has been over 20 years and the pic is just no longer up to date. And if I wanted to have a DL that is valid for another 20 years I had to have that done by January first. Since I'm currently on vacation anyway, I figured that might be a good time to do that.
I got to the DMV at about 9.15 am and there were people like crazy. Never ever have seen the place that crowded. So I patiently stood in line. Had some interesting chats with other people waiting in line. It did take 3 hours just to get a number for someone to actually do something. At 11.30 am we learned that our forms would not be processed before noon, but that we had to come back after lunch break.
Since I had 2 hours to kill I did run a couple of errands and had some fast food just in case it's gonna take another 3 hours.
I got back about 15 minutes before the lunch break was over and things started to move along. I only had to wait about 30 minutes to have all my paperwork processed. I knew I wouldn't be getting my new DL right away. But if everything goes according to plan I should have a brand new drivers license within the next 7 business days and it will be valid for another 20 years.
I'm very happy that I finally got that taken care of.
After all the "fun" experience at the DMV I decided to head over to Mariahilfer Strasse to do some shopping for Outdoor Shoes. And yes I did spend a little more that I wanted to. But I think it all will be worth it in the end.
No comments:
Post a Comment