Sunday, December 28, 2014

Gina's first Outing in the snow...

The past 7 days or so the temps out here had been freezing. It's actually the first time this winter season in Vienna that it had been that cold for a longer time. Last night it started to snow slightly. While I'm generally not a big fan of snow in the city, it does give a completely different feeling to the holiday season. 
When I got up today there were a couple of inches snow on the ground. It' always fun to walk trough fresh powder. So I decided on an outing with Gina in the snow at a local park. We had to take tram and subway to get there, but that was no issue at all for her. At first she checked out the snow and didn't feel too excited about it. But soon she got the hang of the white stuff and did really enjoy herself. And the longer this outing lasted the more excited she got about the white powder. Jumping and bouncing around. Way more that what is good for her, since it has only been 1 week since she had one of her claws pulled. That last thing I wanted for her to be in pain or that the wound would start bleed or get infected again. So I had to calm her down quite a number of times. 
There is something I don't appreciate about other dog owners. The know fully that their dogs have to be on a leash in the part at all times. But especially with snow nobody seems to care about that. And of course there were a couple of instances when Gina did react very strongly towards other dogs. Meanwhile I know how tries to deal with it. First she tries to avoid the entire thing. If that doesn't work, she lies down and gets ready to get after the dog. Usually I'm fairly good in defusing such a situation by just walking into a different direction with her. But there are situation when you just can't avoid it. And there was one dog owner who particularly pissed me off. I didn't just cuss at him like a sailor, but I threatened to punch his fucking heart out if he wouldn't put his dog on the leash right away. Apparently I must have been really mad and really convincing, since it took less than 5 seconds  for that owner to put his dog on the leash. I don't like getting that way, but sometimes you just have to do what you have to do!

No comments:

Post a Comment