Friday, October 31, 2014

Appointment with my HMO...

Today I had the appointment with at the headquarter of my HMO. Those of you who read my blog regularly know that I was going to have my broken front tooth replaced and will be getting partials for my missing teeth in the side-tooth area. Of course I could have paid for it completely out of my pocket, but that's not something I would be looking forward to with fun. And having a government run HMO has the benefirt that they take over a part of the cost every 6 years.
I had my appointment at 7.30 and got there about 15 minutes early. I sat down where they used to approve all the paperwork. But tunrs out that the've changed alot in the past decade. So I was asked to go to another area for the approval process. To my surprise there was no waiting in line. The guy looked at my paperwork looked up the rates and I was done with the entire approval process. This was actually very quick, unbureaucratic and painless.
So I will be getting a replacement for my broken upper front tooth, a crown over a tooth on my lower right jaw in 2 teeth on the right side and 1 tooth on the left side replaced. If I had to pay that in full out of my own pocket it would have cost me 2.200 bucks. But having gotten approval from my HMO it's only going to cost me 1.100 bucks...so that's quite a substantial savings. It's still a big chunk of cash, but much better than the version where I would have to pay for it full. And when I'm done with the dental procedure I will be able to chew properly again.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Big News and picking up my Passport..

I have planned an XMAS vaction to see someone very special to me. But with my original vaction request that would have meant that I would have to fly back on New Years Eve. And I really didn't like that idea. Neiter did the guy I'm gonna visit. So I put in a change to my vacation request recently, but didn't hear anything back. This prevented me from finally booking my flight, and I know how hard it can be to find flights at reasonable prices during XMAS time. But today I got news from my boss, that I will be getting the 2nd of January off as well. I was really stoked with those news. That means I will be able to spend XMAS and New Years Eve with someone very special to me. Of course it means that Daisy will have to stay that time at the boarding facility. And that's not exactly cheap.
I left work today at 5 pm, since I had to get to the post office before 6 pm. Made it with about 25 minutes to spare. I had gotten yesterday the info that my new passport was ready to be picked up. Just confirming your ID with your DL and off I went with a brand new passport, that will be valid for another 10 years. Not sure how much I appreciate the fact that I had to give my fingerprints to get a passports..but that's just how things are these days. After all I can't change the law.
When I got home I took Daisy for a big walk in a quite foggy Vienna and than jumped on my computer to find a great deal on flights. I had checked the flights over the past few days several times, so I knew where to look for good deals. I really didn't want't to have a 19 hour layover in order to save 150 bucks. That layover just isn't worth the savings to me. After I had figured out those flights that came into closer consideration. I could have just booked one of the better deals, but something just told me to cross-check with the homepage of airline...and it turns out that I could get a better deal there. It was not much about 80 bucks, but that's still not bad at all. And of course I went right ahead and booked the flight. Now me going on my XMAS vacation is pretty much a done deal...and it has been 3 1/2 years since I went on a plane last. I'm so looking forward to this and so looking forward to flying again...since I enjoy flying.

Sunday, October 26, 2014

There's a new Man in my life...

After having been Single for 3+ years there's a new and very special man in my life. When the whole thing started off I didn't think too much about it. And I really didn't expect it to go anywhere. But you know how it is. You do something or something and don't expect anything of it and suddenly it's starts going somewhere. If you guys are expecting a name...well then you've got it all wrong. Thtat's something that's not gonna happen, at least not at that point.
The thing is we do have a ton of things in common. We just think a the majority of topics just alike. We are both standing with both feet on the ground, both have a leveled head and have both been once through hell and back. Maybe that's on of the reasons why we do understand the other guys feeling so perfectly well. There is no need to explain tho the other guy what's it about...the other one knows exactly what you're talking about, even if you can't put your feeling in the clear words you want to put them in.
At first I just it was just a crush. That wouldn't have been the first time. But it usually wears off very quickly. But this time it was entirely different. And it was the beginning of something I so didn't expect. At first we had here and there a chat and we did get along very well with each other. But as time went on the chats got longer and the conversations grew deeper. That wouldn't have been that special. But it was the beginning of getting to know each other slowly and on a very personal level. We could talk about pretty much every subject, that you would cover while dating. But we also touched subjects that you don't touch that quickly. But with my special guy I felt safe, so that I could talk about any subject. And I started a couple of subjects that are not that easy to bring up when you're interested in a guy. But the need to be talked about. That's just the kind of person I am. And he's exactly the same way. With him the truth is absolutely the way to go. And that's absolutely amazing, considering the fact that there are tons of things you better never ever touch with your average gay man. But with my special guy that was no problem at all. I think that was the point when that special thing we had going on became somethin much more serious than I expected. Of course I know that this won't be an easy path, but guess it's true that the things that are hard are aboslutly worth fighting for.
As time went on our chats became way longer and way more frequent. Not just about certain topics, but also about every day life. And we both realized how much we had in common and how much we do think alike. Having common interests is definitely big plus. Having the similar ideas what constitutes a great weekend getaway is definitely helpful as well. And of course at some point to topic sex and preferences comes up. And it is a fun subject to talk about...at least as far as I'm concerned. And it was stunning to see how much we do have in common in that area as well. And expecially in that area we're definitely made for each other.
But that all isn't even half of it. As time and chats went on I did realize that there was happening a big change inside myself. It mad me totally happy seeing a text message from him hin the morining. This text always made my day much brighter. No text...not so much fun. I was looking forward to each and every chat. And it awakened feelings in me, that I didn't even know I was capable of anymore. At least I had thought those feelings would be a thing of the past. Something you remember fondly. But he made me feel almost like a Teenager. All the bád feelings about heart breaks are gone. Only the great feeling remains. It's the first time in a very, very long time that my Heart is once a again part of that special thing we have here. And it's just an amazing feeling. It's difficult to explain, but in the last 3 years all the guys I've been out with...well my heart was never really part of it. So it really takes a very special guy to be able to get my heart into that thinge we have. I know it might sound silly, but it feels like having butterflies in your stomach. And that hasn't happened a terribly long time to me. When I chat with him I'm on top of the world...and when he's not around and I'm by myself...well I don't feel exactly sad, but something very important is definitely missing. And yes, just talking to my guy awakens feelings that I only remember from the time when I was 18 or 19. Just saying that much it makes my skin that slight ticklish feeling. And we do both feel the same way. It's almost as if we had been looking for each other for a long time, and finally found each other. So Yes, I do feel absolutely AWESOME!!

Friday, October 24, 2014

Booking Daisy's boarding facility

I have been going over that subject tons of times. Hiring a dog sitter is just not an option. Besides the cost factor, what bothered me most is the fact that Daisy would have been left alone after being walked several times a day. And I don't think that would be easy on her considering her history with seperation anxiety. I really don't want her to stay with my parents, since I don't want Daisy anywhere near my so called dad. She can't stay with my Sis either since she had her 3rd baby, does have young kittens and my nephews would drive Daisy crazy. And sinc she is having now issues with her joints I don't want her to have to go through that stress. For most part of the day she just wants to have her peace and quiet. So afer doing some research I think I found the right facility for Daisy. She will be getting her own room there and the facility is located on the outskirts of Vienna. So I will be dropping her off in the morning of November 10th and picking her off in the evening of November 12th. I really think that is the bestm solution for her.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Renewing my passport...

The renew my passport I had to have new pix taken, since they ar not allowed to be older than 6 month at the most. I had that already taken care of last Friday after work. I really didn't feel like waiting in line, so I set up an appointment online. The appointment I got was on October 22nd at 2 pm. Not exactly my time of choice, since I does cut into my quite busy work schedule. But one thing I was not going to do is to got back to wort for 1 or 1 1/2 hours. I planned on taken the rest of the afternoon of. And with 49 hour overtime I can easily afford that.
So I left work on time and got to the appointment with the local subdevision of the State Department with about 10 minutes to spare. And having made an appointment and this not being a super busy time for passports I didn't have to wait a minute. I had all the necessary documentation like drivers license, birth certificate and certificate of citzenship with me. I did get asked a couple of simple questions about my time abroad. The just wanted to find out if I am still and Expat or if I have relocated back to Austria. And of course they wanted to confirm if my testimony meets what they have on file. And of course it did. So the only thing left to do was to have my fingerprint taken, since that's required with the new passports and then I paid the 80 bucks in within the next 5 workdays I should have to passort delivered to my place of residency.
The enite appointment took less than 15 minutes. And I went right back home. Dasiy was very surprised to see me that early and I took her right for a long walk. After that I had some late lunch and took a 2-hour nap. Apparently the 4 hour sleep per night for the past couple of weeks do take their toll. 

Monday, October 20, 2014

Daisy's big accident...

When I got home form work there was somehting odd. No Daisy waiting for me at the door. So I turned on the light and saw her having a difficult time getting up. The she slipped an fell. She repeated the entire getting up, sleeping and falling process 3 times. Then she had managed the get in close proximity to the door. When I saw her slipping and falling, the first thing I thought that she must have had a stroke. That she was was completely wet on her side and her belly didn't quite disprove that asessment either. So I mad her stay on the tiles and investigated further. Turns out that Daisy had thrown up big time when I was at work. Apparently she must have slipped in that slick and fallen. Either it just had happend or she had been laying in that nasty filth for quite some time and just couldn't find the strenth to get out of it. Daisy's joints are not that what they used to be.
First thing I did was to get rid of my work cloths and than I grabbed Daisy and put her into the bath tub and washed your down properly. She so is not a fan of taking baths. After she had was pretty much dry I made her stay in the bathroom while I took care of that big accident. With all that liquid on the laminat the shamwow's came in quite handy. Every time I came into the bathroom, Daisy didn't even want to look at me. She felt guilty about the entire incedent. I'm still not sure if  all that liquid was all from her thorwing up or if she wasn't able to control her bladder after the accident. But it really didn't matter. I wasn't mad at her. Once the entire mess was cleaned up. I set down next to Daisy and gave her some special attention. And she did get the idea. After that I took Daisy out for her evening walk and I didn't see neurological signs that she had a stroke. Looks like that something really didn't agree with her tummy.

Monday, October 13, 2014

The Business Trip is on...

Well today I had a little chat with the Junior Boss on her request regarding a couple of procedures that urgently need streamlining and other work related subjects that could use an overahul as well. It was a very easy chat and she gave me the green light to go ahead and start streamlining procedures as I see fit. Of course I've always to inform my superior what I plan on doing. But since we do have a very good working relationship we always find a good way that satisfies administrative needs and the need for streamling tasks.
But it also came up that the business trip to Gemany is still on, and that there is now a date where this will happen. And it actually is gonna happen earlier than I thougt it would. I will be gone from November 10th and 11th. And that means that I now can book the boarding facility for Daisy. It also means that I have to decide if I drop Daisy off at the facility on November 8th or November 11th in the morning. But one thing is for certain, that she will have to stay at the facility till Novemver 12th, since I won't be getting back in time to pick her up on November 11th. I still have to figure that out. On top of that I will have to have my passport renewed very quickly or it's gonna cost me 200 bucks to get an express passport. I still do feel bad to have Daisy to to leave at a boarding facility, but that's one of the downsides of being single. It's just something you have to deal with it.

Saturday, October 11, 2014

The Dating Game...

There have been some interesting devlopments in the dating game. Having 2 guys show genuine interest at the same time is definitely nice. And it's somehting that hasn't happened to me in quite some time. Dear reader, if you expect any names here...you might as well just move on...as that's just not gonna happen here.
Both of those guys are both interesting to talk to, and I do have with both of them quite a number of things in common. And I really do appreciate the time I get to chat with them. But me having a quite very busy life doesn't make that easy. There are many things that we both agree on and would want to have. But I guess the things you can't have right away and are not exactly easy to obtain are worth waiting for. I am aware that online you can be anything you ever want to be. And only a date face to face can answer the question if the same chemistry is there in person as there is online. Both of those guys love dogs, and that is something important to me. If it shoudl ever come down to it I would never ever date someone who doesn't love dogs. That would be pretty much a deal breaker. Another possible deal breaker could be the question of adopting kids. That's just not something that is part of how I evision my life for the next 10 to 20 years. Or to put it another way, I rather live with a pack of dogs than adopt a single kid.
With one of those 2 guys I do have something else in common. We do think alike when it comes to our professional life and we do have a very similar focus when it comes to matters regarding our occupation. And that is something that is quite important.
I did think about it long and hard. And yes there are quite some differences between those 2 guys as well. The sexual preference didn't play much of a roll here. What did play a role was the question "Whom can I see myself with". And it's just a fact that I can see myself with one of those 2 guys and  not so much with the other. It's just that there seems to be a little a deeper connection. And having worked in accounting for over 2 decades, you never really stop being an accountant. And you never really stop using the rational side of your brain. So I did look at it from a rational side and not only with what my heart was telling me. If you're in your 20's you can go with your feelings only, but if you're my age you just don't have that luxury any more. And as hard is it might sound, one of those 2 guys just seems to have a couple of red flags. I'm not gonna go into any specifics here, since this is not the appropriate place for it. And I don't think that I'm willing to deal with all those red flags. But of course there is always slim possibility that those red flags only came up in chat, but wouldn't pose a problem in real life. With all that being said, currently I can only see myself with one and not other.
And this is the first time in quite a long time that I did let my heart be part of that dating journey and not just decide it rationally and keep people at bay in order to prevent from possibly getting hurt again.
But only future will tell for sure where this dating adventure is gonna go.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Dentist Appointment Round 3...

Today I had my 3rd appointment with the dentist. During my first visit he discoverd a cavity on one of my molars that needed to be taken care of. But he didn't want to do it right away with all the troubles with the gums and it wasn't bothering me to being with.
I left work about 1 hour early and got there with about 10 minutes to spare. I did have to wait for about 15 minutes until they were ready for me. Of course I opted for some novacaine, since I really didn't want to have to deal with the pain. But this injection was interesting. It shot up my face in a way no other novacaine injection had ever done before. It it got num so quickly. And then the drilling started. Didn't hurt so at all....just was annoying. And it was a good thing that I opted for the injections, sinsce this cavity was really deep and quite close to the nerve. And of course there is a possibility that the nerve doesn't recover and that I still might need a root canal on that particular tooth. But that's something the dentist and I hope to avoid, since a root canal on a back molar is neither fun for the patient nor for the dentist. In the end I opted for a white filling, since I'll have some bridge work in the furture and it will just look better. The downside is, that the HMO doesn't pay for the white filling and the novacaine. And so I had to hand over 200 bucks at the end of the appointment.
And no, I'm not done yet. I will be back at the beginning of November.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Locating a boarding facility...

Today I got some news at work, that I wasn't particularly happy about. I was one among those chosen to have to fly to Germany for about 2 or 3 days in order to evaluate the latest release of  our accounting software and have talk with the developers to iron certain problems out or find  workable solution.
While being chosen for such an endeavor certainly says something about my qualification as Operative Accountant it's not exactly without any problems. After all I'm single and have to find a solution for Daisy while I am gone. I really don't to have my 76 year old mom have to take care of the dog. And I don't want Daisy anywhere near a yelling idiot aka my sol called dad. Besides that Daisy can't stand the idiot to begin with and I don't want Daisy to have to deal with the stairs at my moms. Therefore Daisy is having enougn problems with her joints lately. My sister is not an option either. She just had her 3rd child, has young kittens at her place and my nephews would drive Daisy entirely nuts.
So I had to figure out a way to board Daisy for 3 days. Here it would have come in really handy having a partner. But there is no need in bitching and whining about the situation. So I went to check on some boarding facilities. Some of them where better suited others not so much. On top of that I had to consider that Daisy is 17 1/2 yers old and really doesn't want to play anymore and that she is very particular when it comes to other dogs. That might just work out fine or she might not like the other dog at all. So I figured the best solution for her in this situation would probably be a boarding facility where she has the option to stay by herself, without being locked up in a kennel all day. I did find just that facility & it's on the outskirts of Vienna. And the charge for 3 days is quite reasonable. The problem is that I can't book it right away, since there still is no exact date on when I will have to travel to Germany.
I will keep you guys posted on that.

Monday, October 6, 2014

First Day of Work...

Having been 2 weeks on vacation is just AWESOME. Even if I just spent it all at home, spending quality time with Daisy. And yes I didn't get anything done that I had planned on getting done. But on the other hand 2 weeks of pure relaxation after haven had a vacation for 13 month was definitely urgently needed.
As fun as that was, coming back to work after 2 weeks...not so much fun. On Sunday it occured to me that I really wasn't looking forward having to go back to work, although I do enjoy my job. But staying home, well that is something that I could get quickly used to. Esepcially since I still have 50 vacation days left.
I got to work around 7 am looked at my desk...and the first thing that crossed my mind was...that I just wanted to turn around and head back home. In the 2 weeks I had been in vacation nobody had done anything. They left pretty much everything for me. I found a ton of printouts, notes and very urgent stuff, that nobody dealt with it either. My desk looked pretty much like a bomb had exploded. It took my half of my workday to get an idea what all neded to be done and get some order into the chaos. And as a good accountant I categorized it according to the most urgent and started working through that pile. While stuff that has to do with legal matters requires more time, I was surpirsed that I was making very good progress entering the bank statements for the past 2 weeks for the German Sub-Company. While of course other things were painfully slow. Well I know my co-worker tried to to his best. But he doesn't have the experience and he certainly isn't a subsitute for me. And the boss told me that he is very happy, that the only "true" Operative Accountant of the company is back.
But it was one of these days, the deeper you dig and the more things you question...the more things that went either paratially or entirely wrong turned up. So I do have the next 2 to 3 weeks already planned out. To get procedure of the outstanding payments back on track. On top of the the Junior Boss called me in and gave me ahead notice that I will be solely responsible to streamline the procedure of that outstand payments and I will be solely in charge of legal matters regarding dealing with delinquent customers. And if that wouldn't be enough I will be in charge to set up the automated payment of supplier invoces. That only becaus the Junior Boss was so impressed with the proceudre, the set up and the implementation of the automated payment system with customers.
Well, that is a lot of work. But on the other hand it's fun having to deal with so many different aspects of accounting and being able to change procedures around as need arises without having to ask for permisson. As far as the boss is concerned he wants to see results, he doesn't care what needs to be done in order to get them. While this is a stressfull job at times, for me it is mostly fun...and I probably wouldn't like it any other way. I do love being an Opperative Accountant and I do love challanges at work. Certainly keeps your mind and your focus sharp.

Saturday, October 4, 2014

"Fun" on the dating front...

While there has been of course a fluctuation on the dating fron over past 3+ years, in recent time there has happened some movement. Not enitrely sure about the reason for it. In recent times I'm been hit on more and more by twinks. While the is of course flattering, it also present an interesting challenge. On the one side the lingo of twinks and a someone in his 40's is quite different. On the other side there is a huge difference in the focus on life. It never occurred to me how much 20 years of age difference make also a huge difference in the way someone looks at things and what is important in life and what isn't.
It seems in your 20's it's all about fun and acquiring material stuff. While in your 40's you do focus way more on your job performance, how to set up a nice and cosy home to relax in and spending quality time with the people that matter to you is way more important than quantity. In your 40's you just don't have rush from one party to the nex, you've learned how to kick back, relax and enjoy yourself. And of course you do at times think of and plan for the day you plan to retire. That's something that would never ever occur to someone in their 20's.
And there is another difference I have noticed. In the time I grew up and first started dating, the things we said did mean something. When we said we were in a relationship it really did mean something. When we said we were in love, it really did mean something. We were much better in expressing our feelings and everyone was cool with it. These days guys tend to get into a jealousy fit just because you don't feel the same way about them or don't have the time to chat an any given moment. It seems that terms like relationships and being in love with someone is not much more than a Facebook status update anymore. It really doesn't seem to mean much these days. Guys in their throw around with those terms so quickly and they change  in an instant. It would make great material for a comedy if it weren't so sad. But for me it has somewhat of an entertainment value.
Of course I do question the motives why these guys are hitting on me. Some of them might just be bored and looking for someone to break up their boredom. Some of them might look at someone in their 40's as the means to refinance themselves. After all guys being in their 40's supposedly have their life together, know where they are heading in regard in their occupation and they are supposed to be financially stable. Some of those guys might not even know exactly where they belong and looking for a way to find out their place sexually. Some of these guys might just look for a mentor and/or father figure. Some of those might just use this venue to get them out of their econmically rather poor coutries, since lots of them seem to be Asians. And for young guys from Asia it might as well be a cultural thing. It might just be that "having" and older partner is kind of a cultural status symbol for them.
I do chat with some of those guys who are more interesting. After all it's always fun to get an different perspective of things. Do I really take that hitting on me seriously. Nope, I don't. I do let it happen and see where it goes. Of course I do know, that it isn't very likely that someone that much younger is gonna end up being your next longterm partner. But of course there is a remote possibility that this might happen. In your 40's it's not about a guys physical attributes or differences that might be attractive in the short run, it's about finding a guy with whom you share the same interests and a similar set of values. And of course someone who makes you happy and smile.

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Dental Cleaning...

You could call that round 2 with the dentist. Today I went back to have my dental cleaning taken care off. Since my full dental cleaning was about 2 1/2 years ago...so I wasn't exactly looking forward to that. I pretty much knew that this was going to be pretty much a blood bath and it was gonna be anything a fun.
The ultrasonic cleaning gets on my nerves, since I really can't stand the sound of it. But as long as they don't work to close to the gums it doesn't bother me that much. But having them work near the gums, that's something I really despise. Working between the gaps of my theeth is not only painful and almost drives me nuts. I do know that the tartar/dental deposit have to come of in order for the occasionally bleading gums to heal. But it's still somthing I really hate. What's even worse is working with the hand instrument in order to get dental deposit of the teeth, that doesn't come off with the ultrasonic device. And finally the dead gum tissue needs to be taken off as well.
After about an hour of being "tortured" by the dental hygenist I was finally done. And I was very relieved that this ordeal was over. To add insult to insury, the dental cleaning isn't payed by the HMO and you have to hand over 120 bucks for that very questionable fun.