Today I had ti head back to the VET with Gina. This was an appointment that I hadn't planned. If she hadn't ripped her claw, we wouldn't have to go back till the beginning of April. But that's life...it always has surprises for you in store. I got off work about 1/2 hour early and headed back home. Got there around 5 pm and decided to hang with Gina about for about 15 minutes before have to put some extra plastic protection on the dressing. That's all because auf the damned winter weather we've been having lately. Yes, I'm really starting to dislike winter. And Gina was not happy about what I was doing. Showing me her teeth and I can't even blame her. But since we had to keep a certain schedule I put the muzzle on her and put the plastic protection in the dressing. Boy, Gina was pissed showed me her teeth through the muzzle and let me hear those high pitched sounds, that really make me feel bad. But being a doggie daddy you have to learn to deal with stuff like that. And I was done in no time. Gave her some affection and some doggie treats before heading out to the VET. And Gina was fine again in no time. While we walked to the VET I realized that Gina was showing more interest in her surroundings that she has been doing for the past 2 days. That's definitely an encouraging sign.
We got to the VET's office and didn't have to wait. I explained to the VET what had happened. Of course it's a 3rd hand testimony since I only heard what had happened on the phone. Gina was fine being put on the exam table. But removing the plastic protection didn't make her exactly happy. Removing the dressing really pissed her off. And she did show her teeth and squeal. Mad me feel bad, but there is nothing you can do about it. I just held her tight and it did calm her down. While the VET was removing the dressing he told me that he had had quite a number of dogs with ripped and broken claws. Not sure what it is about dogs and snow in Vienna. Daisy never ever had that problem. Once the dressing was off Gina was even less happy. And I did get a first look at what had happened. And boy that's really bad. No wonder she shows her teeth when you touch her paw. Considering the injury she is showing a ton of restraint towards me.
When she ripped her claw in the pound she just ripped it and it had to be cut very deep and cauterized. But this time Gina ripped the claw out at pretty much all the way to the root. And that of course is a very painful injury. Anything that close to the bone has to hurt like hell. So no wonder she tries to avoid stepping too much on that paw. But she is definitely getting better with that. After the inspection trough the VET the wound had to be disinfected and a new dressing had to come on. But Gina was so not happy about it and protested very distinctly and she squealed. Some of it was just doggie drama to make it go away. But some things really did hurt her. But that's something she has to get trough. Once the new bandage was on, Gina was all fine again and really wanted to get out of the VET's office. I got more antibiotics and we will have to go back on Monday to look how the wound looks. if all goes well, she won't be needing a bandage anymore. But I believe that, when I actually see it happen.
Of course after getting home, it was time for lots of affection and lots of doggie goodies. I will keep you guys posted on the progress.
No comments:
Post a Comment