Monday, February 9, 2015

Gina's big Accident...

Today was shaping up to be an interesting day right from the morning on. Gina din't particularly behave on her morning walk. But things were going to get a lot worse. But that's something I didn't imagine at this time.
Got to work and start me regular routine. When I look outside I see that Vienna is being pounded quite hard by a snow storm. This isn't something particularly special, but usually that is over in 1 or 2 hours. But this snow storm just kept on coming. Pretty good wind gusts and Vienna really got a good amount of snow. At that time I was thinking Gina and I will be having fun on our evening walk in the snow, but sometimes things shape up to be quite different.
As the day went on slowly ice flowers were forming on the window at work. While that is fun to look at, I really wasn't to fond of the idea of having to get out in the weather to get home. During that time we got the first news that public transportation service was getting more and more sporadic. More and more lines were shutting services down at least partially or kept services up with huge delays. I was pondering if I should take a cab from work or in the worst case scenario I would have to walk home. And that's about a 1 1/2 hour hike. And that was something I wasn't not really looking forward to.
But things were going to get way worse than that. Suddenly my cell phone rings. That's something that rarely ever happens when I'm at work. And it's my dog sitter. I figured right away that something had to be wrong or she wouldn't be calling. Turns out, that on there way back from the park Gina had broken on of her claws and a VET will have to look at it and most likely the claw will have to be pulled. So I told her to go ahead and take care of my poor girl. I thought that was the end of it. But boy was I wrong. About 1/2 hour later my dog sitters boss calls me to inform me about the accident. I tell me that the sitter had already called me and he let me know that I can call him at any time if I want to have an update. I thought that was very decent of them. Another 30 minutes pass and my sitter calls me, to let me know that my VET doesn't have office hours yet and that the second VET in the area of my apartment is on vacation. Of course, how could it have been any different. So we
decided that she is going to take Gina to the VET Clinic Meidling, where my sitter works part time. And I gave her the OK to take a cab, since Gina's dressing is not supposed to get wet. 1 hour passes and my sitter called me to let me know that the procedure has been finished and Gina is resting at home. Now I have to give Gina antibiotics twice a day and the dressing will have to be changed on Wednesday.
At that point I try to figure out how to get home. One of my co-workers offers to drive some of us to the next subway station. I gladly accepted that offer. Of course the tram I usually take from the subway doesn't run. So I take a walk in the winter wonderland to my apartment. Took my about 15 minutes what isn't too bad. I wonder about the mood Gina will be in when I get home. She was sitting on the couch and I told her to stay there. Really didn't want her to jump off the couch to greet me. I sat down her beside her and boy was she pissed. This girl was not happy. Took me about 20 minutes with lots of attention and doggie cookies for her to relax right next to me and put her head on my thigh. But touching her dressing was a no go. Every time I tried it Gina showed her teeth. So I let her be and went into the kitchen to start dinner. I figured she does not want to go out...and I was right. But after some time Gina joined me in the kitchen. So I put a blanked down for her to rest more comfy while I'm cooking. Gina pretty soon fell asleep. So she got to do 2 things that are normally a no go: she got doggie cookies on the couch and she is allowed to stay in the kitchen while I'm cooking. But other than that I didn't make a big deal about her accident. Me feeling bad about it doesn't change the fact and is not going to help Gina in any way.
I made good progress with dinner. While that I prepared Gina's meal and put it down. Wasn't sure if she was willing to get up to her bowl. But she got up right away and ate her food as if nothing had happened and after that it was back to her comfy blanket in the kitchen. After dinner I watched some TV and Gina was sleeping right next to me. Before heading to bed I really waned to let her quick out of the house to do her business, but as soon as I came with the harness Gina hid right away in the bathroom, just showing  me her butt. So I figured that was a NO as far as she was concerned. So I let her be and pretty soon she joined me in the bed and sleep very well right next to me.
I know that much, that it will take between 6 to 8 weeks until that claw has grown back and this will be really uncomfy for her for at least 1 week. And all that snow and sleet is not exactly helpful either. But I want to talk to my VET on Wednesday about the incident. Since that is the second claw Gina has broken within 3 month. She had that happen to her back at the pound. I know it's way more common than one might think, but none of the dogs I've had privilege to be around had that happen to them...at least as far as I know.
But I will keep you guys posted on the progress!

No comments:

Post a Comment