Today I finally got around to watching the newest addition to the Star Trek Franchise. Well, were do I even start. As a big Star Trek Fan I can only say that this movie was very disapointing. I would even go so far to say it was absolutely terrible. Besides a few minor bright spots there is nothing good about this movie. Of all the movies of the Star Trek Franschise this is the second worst. There is only one movie that is worse and every Star Trek fan knows exactly the I'm talking about.
If that really is the best J.J. Abrams can do, well than he has no business directing any Star Trek movie. Right from the get go we get action sequence after action sequence. That's te only thing that moves it forward. If I want to see a movie that is only one action clip after the next than I go an see a Michael Bay movie. But for a Star Trek movie just doesn't work. The SFX although interesting are way too CGI and nobdoy spent any time trying to make it look less CGI. This might work in a video game, but for a Star Trek movie this is absolutely terrible.
The dialog is rather dull and boring. Who ever wrote it has apparently no idea what a dialog worth of a Star Trek movie has to be. Giving Uhura and Sulu a little more screen time is one of the few bright spots. So is the chemistry between Kirk and Spock. Not giving Scotty and Bones the necessary screen time and appropriate amount of dialog is another big let down.
My beef with this movie starts already with the last movie and the fact that it is bases on Kirk and the original crew. That's a huge mistake as that's a leagaycy that they could never ever live up to. And it makes them come off a cheesy. Stop using established characters and feed of them like a bunch of vultures. Go out and create your own characters with it's own stories. That's the way it is supposded to be done. TNG didn't try to be a TOS, neither did DS9, Star Trek Enterprise or Voyager. Once the TNG crew started taking over in the Star Trek movies, did they try to feed of the TOS characters ? No of course they didn't. They told their own stories. And that's what I loved about it. Character development takes effort and time.
What we got in this movie are stories that have already been told. The Kirk "wanabe" court martial comes off as completly fake, when compared to the real deal of the TOS crew. The Khan story is even worse. This story has been told twice. As episode in TOS in Star Trek 2. That what we got here was pretty much a bad joke. If I want to watch the Khan story I watch Star Trek 2. And that was a great movie and fun to watch. In every movie they're supposed to tell a new story and not rehatch something that has already been told 1000 times better before.
By the time this movie was over, I was happy about 1 thing: that the movie finally had ended. That are 2 hours I will never ever get back again. As a Star Trek fan I was very disapointed and as a consumer I felt cheated for the amount of 12 bucks. If I had wanted to watch Star Trek 2 I could have stayed at home watched it and save 12 bucks, and would have had a way more enjoyable movie experience. If that thing comes out on DVD I'm certainly not going to by.
On a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the best and 1 being the worst, I would give this movie a 2. And that's being very generous.

No comments:
Post a Comment