Well today I finally watched the 'The Hangover - Part 1'. It's one of those movies I never got around to watching when it was out at the movies. For a synopsis and more info check out the IMDB Page of "The Hangover".
Well the movie starts pretty conventional: A few guys going to Vegas for a bachelor party. Yes there are a couple of funny scenes in that: A teacher that steals from his kids and another guy obviously violating his restraining order. Up to the drinking party on the roof of Caesar's Palace, there's not much of the ordinary. Then the fun part starts.
The guys find themselves in a pretty messed up $ 4.200 suite with a tiger, a baby, a chicken and missing a tooth and the groom. The reason for the existence of the chicken in the room is never being questioned and so we never find out where it came from or what happened to it in the end. Then the search for their missing memory begins. It has almost the making of a criminal investigation conducted few entirely inept guys. This part is absolutely hilarious. Their search leads them to a wedding chapel, a sweet hooker, a chinese Mobster, a emergency room doctor and finally to Mike Tyson. The absurdity of the situations keep on increasing. It's one of those movies, where you think you've seen it all...well, but you haven't. The thing about this movie is that you almost find yourself caring about the characters and the fact that you realize that you almost do, makes this movie even funnier.
Zach Galifianakis performance of Alan is truly outstanding! Ken Jeong plays the chinese mobster very well. Of course he plays it completely over the top, but that's what makes it funny. The fact that he finds anything what a fat man does funny adds to his role. Of course we have an added twist, that they get the wrong Doug. That really didn't come as a big surprise. Finally a mattress impaled on one of the statues of Caesar's Palace gives the final clue and they find the missing groom and head back to LA.
The end of the movie is both: A little too over the top and a little too conventional. Well I've lived 8 years in LA and I've never ever seen a mobile tux rental service throw the clothes into their customers car on the freeway. Btw. I've never ever seen anyone change into a tux on a freeway either. Yes it makes a good visual effect, but it's just too over the top, especially when you're already winding the movie down back the the conventional layer. They had to end the movie conventional, since the movie started out that way. But the transition between hilarious part and the conventional part is not what I would call a happy solution. It's just too abrupt and seems to come out of nowhere.
All in all a very funny movie and I definitely was quite entertained all the way through. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give it a 6.5!!
No comments:
Post a Comment