Thursday, May 14, 2015

Removing Gina's bandage...

Today, was the day that I would have to remove Gina's bandage by myself. Not exactly a task I was exactly looking forward to. Considering the drama she pulls off when the VET does it. Of course it had crossed my mind that it mind be easier for me to just put the muzzle on her. But I really didn't want to do that unless I have no other option.
I figured that we do have a different relationship and Gina lets me do things that she would never ever tolerate with anyone else. So I set down in the bathroom with her and slowly started cutting on the bandage. Gina was not exactly a happy camper. Not exactly putting her chaps up, but being a little more mouthy than usual. So I gave her a break. And started once again. So within 3 minutes the bandage was off, and that without the use of the muzzle.
I checked the paw and it was dry and looked fairly good. I really had hoped that Gina would allow me to clean the paw a little of the drainage fluid. Well that was just a little too much. She really didn't want that. So I left it alone. I really didn't want to have to do that by force. But now she's using her pas as if  nothing had happened. And I'm very happy about that.

No comments:

Post a Comment