Today was the last day before I went on vacation. I was hoping to get out of work by 4 pm at the latest. Well, that's something that just didn't happen. There were way too many things to deal with and to many loose ends to tie up. On top of all of that I had to figure out the best way to set up the new form for payment reminders. With the update of our software to the new version all the all forms became invalid and had to be created again. Well, I thought being an accountant that wouldn't be my job. The way I understand it, that would be the way of the Software and IT-Guys...after all we are paying them to do that job. But as it turns out it's my job to do that. So I managed to get one form up and running. Not that I'm entirely happy with it, but at least for now it's a workable solution. I didn't get the forms for the other 2 sub-companies done. I hope that my co-worker is able to get that done. I told him, if he can't figure it out by himself he should call the Tech-Guys. But something tells me that the entire update of the forms isn't goint to work out the way it is supposed to. Maybe I'm being pessimistic here. But knowing my co-worker I really don't think it's going to turn out the right way. And that I will have to deal with it once I get back from my vacation.
By the time I left work it was 5.30 pm and on my way home I had the feeling that I had forgotten something. Well a couple of hours later it hit me that I hadn't completed one statistic that the Federal Statistic Agency want's to have by the 15th of each month. I considered for a second to come in on Tuesday and finish the damned thing. But than I remebered how deal with the statistics of other co-workers. We tell the Agency that the co-worker is on vacation and that it will be done as soon as he is back. If that should turn out to be a problem...well, my boss has my cell number and can call me...otherwise I really couldn't care less...at least at this particular point in time.
Apparently after not having had a real vacation for more thatn 1 1/2 years I'm more than overdue for it.
No comments:
Post a Comment