Thursday, November 4, 2010

A absolutely Black Day

The Midterm elections were an absolutely back day. This is the only conclusion you can come to. Before going into the details of that election disaster, I'll be taking a look at CA Propositions first.
  • Prop 19 would have made sense from a fiscal and from a law enforcement point of view. That's why it didn't pass. Fact is the CA Electorate is not going to pass anything that actually makes sense.
  • Prop 20 on the other hand was the dumbest possible idea, that's exactly the reason why it passed. Welcome back segregation, welcome back!! On the other hand Proposition 20 is perfect if you in fact plan to slowly set up a fascist dictatorship!!
  • Prop 21 failed, because it would have made sense and been a good idea... apparently you can't have that in California!!
  • Prop 22 passed... of course, because it's a stupid idea. I hope the CA Electorate is pleased that they gave away local control and opened the door to the exploitation of senior citizens. Great job, you moronic idiots!!
  • Prop 23 failed not because of the issues involved, but because Texas Oil Companies have terrible reputation. That's one of the few bright spots.
  • Prop 24 didn't pass, because it would have made sense and would have held the big corporations accountable and pay their fair share. Well in CA you certainly can't have anything that makes sense!!
  • Prop 25 is the actually surprising thing. It makes sense and it did pass. Nobody could be more surprised about that. As that outcome should stop the budget gridlock in Sacramento.
  • Of course Prop 26 passed... since that thing is at least as damaging as Prop 23 and at least as evil. Voting NO on Prop 26 would have been the logical thing to do... and we certainly can't have any of that!!
  • Prop 27 failed. Well voting YES on 27 would have been the right thing. It would have ensured fair representation in DC... Apparently the CA Voter prefers unfair representation, the reestablishment of Segregation and the slowly introduction of a de-facto fascist dictatorship. Way to go, morons!!
Well the Midterm elections were an absolutely disaster. There is no way in getting around that. The real issue is not really that the Republicans won the majority of the House and the Democrats held onto a very slight majority in the Senate. That's not really of much importance. The way more important thing is that this country has made a complete turn to the right... I would even say to the far right!!
The way more disturbing thing is the huge success of the TeaParty. I know what those people are about... and I have seen a movement like that before: Hitler and the Nazis!!
Let me refresh your historical memory... When Hitler rose the first time to power he had only won about 30% of the votes... and the political establishment were certain they could control him. We all know how that turned out in the end.
The year 1930 and the year 2010 have absolute similarities. In 1930 the Nazis started their rise to power. The same as happening with the TeaParty in 2010. If history repeats itself in less than 3 years the TeaParty will control 30% of House and Senate and the GOP will be the big enabler of the TeaParty. The GOP might believe, that they can control/influence the TeaParty, but in the end they're just kidding themselves. Within less than 10 years this country will be a fascist dictatorship. It's quite troubling, but still not that what makes this election absolute disaster.
Yes, it is bad that the Democrats lost the majority in the house. From my point of view that's a rather minor issue. The way bigger issue is that 2/3 of this country made a sharp turn to the right and in large parts to the extreme right. That is bad, but still not a terrible issue. What is way more troubling than all that are the implications that come with that:
Any Democrat, regardless if he's running for the House, Senate or for President will have to appeal to the right wing voter. Any Democrat who would be doing so will offend the center-left and left Democrats. That fact makes a real change in political power in the near future very unlikely. Besides that one has to consider that GOP and TeaParty alike ran a very successful campaign using mostly hate and fair based arguments. In 2012 they can run pretty much a carbon copy of the 2010 campaign... as they have still someone to blame for no progress at all: the current administration. I don't pretend that I could predict the future... but the outlook for the next 10 years is very, very black!!
As bad as that all is, there are certain 'big' issues that are way more important to me. Let's take a quick look at them:
  • The Employment Non Discrimination Act (ENDA)... forget it for the next 20 years!!
  • DADT Repeal... forget it for the next 20 years!!
  • Repeal of DOMA (Defense of Marriage Act)... you can forget that for the next 20 years!!
  • Immigration Reform... you can completely forget about that as well!!
  • In the next 20 years the LBGT community won't be seeing any progress, but lots of regress of current LBGT rights instead!!
I'm not about to make any decision now. I want to see what the 9th Circuit is going to do with the CA Prop 8 Appeal and what's going to happen with the Massachusetts lawsuit against DOMA. I want to see what the 9th Circuit does with those 2 lawsuits. It's not like I believe that this will really make any difference. It will prove to me if the 9th Circuit makes decision based on law or if they rather keep themselves a door open for the coming change. Even if the 9th Circuit and the Supreme Court were to take the position of the Plaintiffs... it's not going to make any difference. A conservative/ultra conservative legislature is not going to make any equality decisions at all.

All of that is interesting and frightening at the same time, but still doesn't address the 'core-question': Living with the knowledge, that in 20 years from now some equality improvement possibly might come... is that really good enough to base a life on it???

No comments:

Post a Comment