I always thought that being the only accountant in the company would be fun. Well exactly the opposite is true. It's so not fun. It certainly is a lot of stress. But that doesn't mean that I let the stress get the better of me. While I don't mind starting work between 6.30 and 7 am, I make it a point to leave work around 4.30 pm. And I really couldn't care less how much work is unfinished. Anything else would be crazy and just leads to an early burn out.
But I do have to say that my boss is really giving my my space. One of my co-workers has taken a month off for his studies and my other co-worker called in sick. So I'm alone in the accounting department. But the work still gets done. And only things that do have the highest priority are being done. Well, that's certainly not desirable, but there's nothing you can do about it. At times it does stress me a little out, but than I think I've only got 2 hands to work with and baby steps are here the way to go. And the most important things are being done. And of course I realize that it would be important to get started with the perp-work for the year's end tax work. Yes it would be important, but that's just no an option right now. And if something isn't done right away, although it should be, I haven't heard any bad word from my boss about that. If he should point it out...he's gonna get an ear full.
No comments:
Post a Comment