Saturday, September 8, 2012

Washer, Haircut & Hardware Store...

Well, today it was finally going to become reality, that my new washer/dryer combi-appliance was going to be delivered. I has delivery, since I wasn't going to drag that 200 lbs thing up 3 flights of stairs. So paying the 80 bucks for delivery was pretty much a no brainer. They had set the delivery time between 9 am and 1 pm. I was waiting from 9 am on. But spent time with a rather lengthy breakfast. Was more of a brunch style thing. After that I watched some TV on my iPad. Hour after hour passes by...but no washer. about 12.40 or so they ring the door bell and start unpacking the thing. I felt sorry for those guys. Especially one of the delivery guys was one tasty dish...and the red shorts did show his buns off perfectly. Yep they were almost to die for. Ups...guess I'm getting a little sidetracked here. It didn't take them much time to set up the washer and it worked perfectly. It better does, after all it's a 1000 buck appliance. I gave them each a 20 buck tip for there effort. For Austria that's considered more than generous.
After that I had to hurry to get to my appointment for a haircut. And I made it just in time. All with the haircut was fine, except for the price. Spending 28 bucks on a haircut is a lot of money...at least for Austria. Especially when that place used to be cheap about 10 years ago. But all the bitching didn't really help. I needed a haircut and that's what I had to pay for. On the positive side, I did find a cheaper place later during the day when I did my grocery shopping for the weekend. It's about half of it and that's the place I will be going to in the future.
After I was done grocery shopping I still had do do one more trip. This one to the hardware store. I had burned out the bulb of the lamp in my kitchen. And the light above the stove really isn't that much help. Who ever said that dimmed lights are romantic apparently never tried to do dishes or to prepare dinner with very little light. It's not much fun. So I get to the hardware store and turns out that light bulbs have become ridiculously expensive. Paying almost 20 bucks for a bulb is excessive as far as I'm concerned. Of course all the LED lights are fairly reasonable priced...but that doesn't help me if my kitchen lamp requires a bulb. So I had to deal with the price.
When I was at the hardware store I also picked up some paint chips. Well, I know that I said about 2 years ago that I won't be doing any painting for the rest of my life ever again...after having finished painting the entire house back in the States. Well, but here we are again. The paint job in my apartment is in need of a redo and landlords are no longer required by law to paint the apartments before renting them out. So this task will fall to me. And especially the paint job in my bedroom is driving me slowly nuts. I really dislike the peach color. On the positive side I will have an apartment painted in the colors I choose myself.
I had planned on visiting a few friends later in the evening, but after all that errands I really didn't feel like it and having a headache didn't help much either. So I decided to spend a quite Saturday evening with Daisy at home.

No comments:

Post a Comment